雄伟的梅赛德斯-奔驰540K代表了斯图加特公司在20世纪30年代战前成就的巅峰。作为500K型号的发展,其独立悬挂的底盘共享,540K由5.4升增压直八引擎驱动。540K是在梅赛德斯新的总工程师,前赛车手马克斯赛勒的领导下开发的首批车型之一。梅赛德斯-奔驰的新旗舰车型采用了该公司著名的roots型增压器系统,在该系统中,将油门踏板踩到行程结束时,将同时与压缩机啮合,并关闭化油器的替代大气进气。

在1936年10月的巴黎沙龙上,540K被梅赛德斯-奔驰誉为“令人叹为观止的赛车和国际著名车手的壮举,同时也是极致舒适和精致美观的马车、精美的油漆、明亮的抛光金属,最精致的硬木和皮革-巨大但引人注目的车身-简而言之:鉴赏家级别的汽车。“它有一个引擎,开发115马力的非增压或180马力(178马力)与压缩机啮合,虽然变速箱是一个四速的,但有一个直接的最高齿轮,而不是早期500K使用的超速传动比。随着增压器啮合,540K的最高速度接近110英里/小时(177公里/小时。伺服辅助液压刹车提供了足够的停止力)。

经过英国汽车杂志的测试,540K的转向和操控性被认为比它的前身500K轻,而且乘坐起来更舒适,尽管在前轴和后轴上保留了相同的带有平行连杆和螺旋弹簧的全方位独立悬架布局。发动机的测试车在增压器启动的情况下,在四分之一英里的时间内以102英里/小时的速度返回,在增压器关闭的情况下以85英里/小时的速度返回。伺服辅助刹车得到了充分的赞扬,鼓风机被研究发现是相对更为安静的且弹簧比500K更舒适,而转向和处理也比该模型更有利。

 

1938年5月,540K由Motor的竞争对手Magazine Autocar进行了测试,并达到了迄今为止所有道路测试车的最高速度:搭载三名乘客,该车在萨里郡布鲁克兰赛道上达到了104.65英里/小时(168.5公里/小时)。“一只脚使劲踩下去,一声近乎恶魔般的嚎叫传来,”测试车手H S林菲尔德(H S Linfield)报告说。转速表和车速表指针在刻度盘上跳动:也许世界上没有其他汽车的噪音像梅赛德斯增压器发出的噪音那样与众不同。'1938年底,一辆经过改进的540K出现了,椭圆形的底盘管代替了通道框架构件,而采用钠冷却阀则遵循了该公司非常成功的赛车实践。

540K的制造记录揭示了它的独特性:1936年生产97台,1937年生产145台,1938年生产95台,1939年在战争结束前生产69台(尽管到1942年7月还有三台)。近年来,这些大型增压梅赛德斯的稀有性、风格和性能,使它们成为少数几款上市的经典车中最受追捧的一款。

上世纪30年代,梅赛德斯-奔驰的品牌质量超过了其他汽车,即使在这十年的发展过程中,这款无人能及的增压型梅赛德斯-奔驰仍然深受英国老客户的欢迎。包括这辆车在内的许多例子被送到英国。

这辆车是今天可以看到的,它是一个华丽的两个座位的敞篷跑车,与著名的Trossi伯爵的SSK相呼应,有挡泥板裙和大量的百叶窗。重要的是,这是一个非常罕见的例子,用“Zurt UcCgESETZTEM马达”或后置马达来传递。这项规范是为奔驰建造的更多跑车预留的,并使教练们能够创造出一种更具侵略性和运动性的赛车。它的建造者是鲜为人知的梅耶尔马车有限公司,总部设在伦敦梅菲尔地区的福莱特。梅菲尔成立于1920年,被称为“进步运输公司”,以其优良、高质量的马车闻名。到1929年,这家公司改名为“梅菲尔”。一位消息人士称,“到了20世纪30年代,(他们)创造了当时最豪华、最令人印象深刻的客车车身。”近400辆劳斯莱斯(Rolls-Royce)底盘和一些战前宾利(Bentley)、几款开放式和封闭式阿尔维斯速度(Alvis Speed)车型、拉贡达(Lagondas)一样,都穿上了梅菲尔(Mayfair)的马车,阿姆斯特朗Siddeley,至少一个阳光,一辆别克,我们相信一对奔驰,一辆500K,底盘123689,还有这辆车。

战后,这辆车在伦敦被著名的经销商J.OLDIN &有限公司做了广告,后来又以著名的布鲁克兰经销商汤普森和泰勒为名。其最终的英国所有权似乎已经与约翰·S·特鲁斯科特有限公司1955再次在伦敦,在这一点上,它是由加拿大的彼得·海斯勒购买。海斯勒把汽车带回家去魁北克的魁北克市,在它卖给多伦多的吉斯伯特冯博克之前,把它保存了几年,在接下来的十年里,它将拥有它。冯·博克在1968年把这辆540K卖给了保罗·萨林,保罗·萨林保留了这辆车30多年。

梅赛德斯当时被Richard C. Mertz和他的儿子所收购,他们的设计非常吸引人,并受到通用汽车公司设计团队的高级成员David Holls的鼓励。在对这辆车进行了长时间的报价后,默茨终于获得了这辆车,在接下来的20年里,他的儿子斯蒂芬得以将这辆引人注目的汽车重新打造成昔日的辉煌。

在漫长的旅程结束后,默茨能够在当时的MedoWBook Hall中首次亮相。当时拍摄的一系列汽车照片,以黑银的双色调方案呈现在众多书籍中,尤其是在Jan Melin的第二部权威作品梅赛德斯-奔驰(Mercedes-Benz)——增压8缸汽车(Supercharged 8-Cylin Cars)的开头,这些照片显得格外显眼。它在这一时期的历史是很好的图表与特点在扭矩杂志。

这并不奇怪,这使得梅赛德斯在著名的收藏家Ralph Engelstad的收集故宫里,在拉斯维加斯获得了1995的汽车。此后不久,这幅画就由他获得了,当时的时尚也被重新粉刷了一遍。

它在故宫一直呆到2002年,当时它交给了William Lyon将军,他把汽车一直保留到2007,当时它被拍卖到了现在的主人那里,在那里,他居住在一个著名的私人收藏中。2011年,作为梅赛德斯和奔驰125周年庆典的一部分,这辆车在Pebble Beach展出。即使在它的同级车中,如工厂化的Spezial跑车,154080是一款以其非凡和独特的设计而脱颖而出的汽车,它无疑将在任何一款主要的混合车中脱颖而出。

联系方式

31250 Cedar Valley Drive, Westlake Village, CA 91362 

Tel 805-523-3330, Fax 805-523-3336

© 2019 林荫大道上的外滩

The magnificent Mercedes-Benz 540K represented the pinnacle of the pre-war achievements by the Stuttgart firm during the 1930s. A development of the 500K, whose independently suspended chassis it shared, the 540K was powered by a 5.4-litre supercharged straight-eight engine. The 540K was one of the first models developed under Mercedes' new chief engineer, ex-racing driver Max Sailer. Mercedes-Benz's new flagship model, it featured the company's famous Roots-type supercharger system in which pressing the accelerator pedal to the end of its travel would simultaneously engage the compressor and close off the alternative atmospheric intake to the carburetor. 

Presented at the Paris Salon in October 1936, the 540K was hailed by Mercedes-Benz as conjuring up 'visions of breath-taking exploits of racing cars and drivers of international fame, but also of superlative comfort and coachwork of exquisite beauty, fine paintwork, brightly polished metal, the finest hardwoods and leather - massive and yet outstandingly attractive bodies - in short: the car for the connoisseur.' It had an engine that developed 115PS un-supercharged or 180PS (178bhp) with the compressor engaged, while the gearbox was a four-speeder but with a direct top gear rather than the overdrive ratio used on the earlier 500K. With the supercharger engaged, the 540K's blown straight eight gave it a top speed approaching 110mph (177km/h. Servo-assisted hydraulic brakes provided adequate stopping power.

Tested by Britain's Motor magazine, the 540K was judged to have less heavy steering and handling than its predecessor, the 500K, plus a more comfortable ride, even though the same all-round independent suspension layout with parallel links and coil springs at the front and swing axles at the rear was retained. The Motor's test car returned 102mph over the timed quarter-mile with the supercharger engaged and 85mph with it disengaged. The servo-assisted brakes came in for fulsome praise, the blower was found to be relatively quiet and the springing more comfortable than that of the 500K, while the steering and handling also compared favorably with that model.

In May 1938, the 540K was tested by Motor's rival magazine Autocar and achieved the highest maximum speed of any road-test car up to that date: carrying three passengers, the car reached 104.65mph (168.5km/h) on the race circuit at Brooklands, Surrey. 'One's foot goes hard down, and an almost demonical howl comes in,' reported test driver H S Linfield. 'The rev counter and speedometer needles leap round their dials: there is perhaps no other car noise in the world so distinctive as that produced by the Mercedes supercharger.' Late in 1938, a revised 540K made its appearance, with oval-section chassis tubes instead of channel frame members, while the adoption of sodium-cooled valves followed the company's highly successful racing practice.

 

The manufacturing record of the 540 K reveals its exclusive nature: 97 being produced in 1936, 145 in 1937, 95 in 1938 and 69 in 1939 before the war ended series production (though three more were built up to July 1942). In recent years, the rarity, style and performance of these big supercharged Mercedes have made them one of the most sought-after of all classic cars on the few occasions they have come on the open market.

The manufacturing record of the 540 K reveals its exclusive nature: 97 being produced in 1936, 145 in 1937, 95 in 1938 and 69 in 1939 before the war ended series production (though three more were built up to July 1942). In recent years, the rarity, style and performance of these big supercharged Mercedes have made them one of the most sought-after of all classic cars on the few occasions they have come on the open market.

 

Testament to the quality of the brand over other automobiles in the 1930s era, even as the decade progressed the unapproachable supercharged Mercedes-Benz remained extremely popular with their well-established British clientele. Numerous examples were delivered to the UK including this car. 

This car was delivered as it can be seen today, as a flamboyant rakish two-seater roadster echoing the famed SSK of Count Trossi, with fender skirts and a plethora of louvers. Importantly, it was one of the very rare examples to have been delivered with a 'zurtückgesetztem Motor' or set-back motor. This specification was reserved for the more sporting cars Mercedes built and enabled the coachbuilders to create cars with an altogether more aggressive and sporting stance, as evidenced here. Its builder was the lesser known Mayfair Carriage Company Ltd., based in the locale of Follett in the Mayfair region of London. Founded as the "Progressive Carriage Company" in 1920, Mayfair is best known for its fine, high-quality coachwork. By 1929, the firm had changed its name to "Mayfair". One source states that "By the 1930s, (they) were responsible for creating some of the most luxurious and impressive coach bodies of their time." Nearly 400 Rolls-Royce chassis were clothed in Mayfair's coachwork, as were a few pre-war Bentleys, several open and closed Alvis Speed models, Lagondas, Armstrong-Siddeleys, at least one Sunbeam, a Buick, and we believe a pair of Mercedes-Benz, a 500K, chassis 123689, and this car. 

After the war, the car was advertised by noted dealer J. Olding & Co. Ltd. in London, then later renowned Brooklands based dealers Thompson & Taylor. Its final UK ownership appears to have been with a John S. Truscott Ltd. again in London in 1955, at which point it was purchased by Peter Hessler of Canada. Hessler brought the car home to Quebec City, Quebec, keeping it for a couple of years before it was sold to Gisbert von Bock, of Toronto, who would own it for most of the next decade. Von Bock sold the 540K to Paul Suckling in 1968 who retained the car for 30 plus years.

The Mercedes was then acquired by Richard C. Mertz and his son, who were charmed greatly by its design and encouraged by David Holls, a Senior Member of the Design Team at General Motors. After a long pitch of offers on the car, Mertz secured it and over the course of the next two decades, and his son Stephen were able to retore this striking automobile to its former glory.

At the end of a long journey, Mertz was able to debut the car at what was then one of the highest profile Concours in the nation, at Meadowbrook Hall. A series of photos of the car taken then, resplendent in a two tone scheme of black over silver are depicted in numerous books, not least being prominently featured at the start of Jan Melin's second authoritative work Mercedes-Benz - The Supercharged 8-Cylinder Cars. Its history in this period is well charted with features in Torque magazine.

It is not surprising that this put the Mercedes on the radar of noted collector Ralph Engelstad of the Imperial Palace Collection, in Las Vegas who acquired the car in 1995. Shortly after this, it was acquired by him, and as was the fashion of the day it was refurbished with a repaint in the single red scheme it remains today. 

It remained at the Imperial Palace until 2002, when it passed to General William Lyon, who retained the car until 2007, when it was sold at public auction to the current owner, where it has resided in a distinguished private collection. In this custody, the car has been shown at Pebble Beach in 2011 as part of the 125 Year Celebration of Mercedes and Benz. Even among its peers, such as the factory bodied Spezial Roadsters, 154080 is a car that stands out for its extraordinary and unique design, it will no doubt stand-out at any major Concours.

BE IN 
TOUCH

31250 Cedar Valley Drive, Westlake Village, CA 91362 

Tel 805-523-3330, Fax 805-523-3336

© 2019 by Bund on the Boulevard