1934 Hispano Suiza

J12

一辆Hispano在1910年赢得了法国着名的Coupe de l'Auto比赛,这款赛车将成为1912年推出的Alfonso XIII车型的基础。可以说是世界上第一款系列生产的跑车,Alfonso由长行程驱动3.6升发动机,能够超过80英里每小时,性能惊人。

 

它在法国的成功曝光促使Hispano-Suiza于1911年在巴黎建立了一家工厂,更好地利用了法国大型市场的潜力。事实上,虽然这个品牌是西班牙血统,但是在第一次世界大战结束后,它是西班牙 - Suiza的法国制造的汽车,在豪华汽车制造商的前列。

Hispano-Suiza是有史以来最着名的品牌之一,于1904年在西班牙巴塞罗那成立,其名称(字面意思是西班牙语 - 瑞士语)承认其原产地及其首席设计师瑞士工程师的贡献Marc Birkigt。后者在1900年在巴塞罗那设计了La Cuadra汽车,然后是卡斯特罗。当卡斯特罗破产时,由富有的投资者Damien Mateu领导的新公司Fabrica De Automoviles,La Hispano-Suiza成立。

 

1906年在巴黎车展上展出了两款四缸车型,并在1908年扩大了车型,增加了两辆六门车型。西班牙年轻的国王阿方索十三世是该品牌的早期奉献者。作为Hispano的第一批客户之一,他于1907年在马德里展会上购买了三个四缸车型,并在他的统治时期拥有约30个左右的例子。

在冲突期间,Hispano引擎为Allies最好的战斗机提供动力,战后该品牌将采用法国'ace'Georges Guynemer的Escadrille des Cicognes的鹳标志,其SPAD双翼飞机使用了Hispano的V8航空发动机。毫不奇怪,第一次战后的Hispano-- H6B--在很大程度上依赖于这种专业技术,由Marc Birkigt设计的6,597cc顶置凸轮轴6提供动力,这些凸轮轴来自推荐的V12航空发动机的一半。七轴承设计享受压力润滑的优点,后者与三速变速箱一起构建,并采用铝合金活塞运行,钢制缸套拧入轻合金块。最大功率是仅在2,400rpm时产生的令人兴奋的135bhp,几乎平坦的扭矩曲线在最高档位提供了步行速度达到85mph的性能。在巴黎的Bois-Colombes开始生产之前,公司的巴塞罗那工厂生产了一些H6B原型机 - 国王阿方索十三号在1918年4月接收了早期的例子。

感受1919年巴黎车展的轰动,H6B采用了轻巧而坚固的四轮制动底盘,与其最先进的动力装置相匹配,不断创新。事实上,它的伺服辅助制动器非常好,劳斯莱斯获得了根据许可证建造设计的权利。 H6B将性能与灵活性,舒适性和良好操控性以及安全性与可靠性相结合,使Hispano-Suiza能够与Rolls-Royce,Bentley,Bugatti,Isotta Fraschini和美国奢侈品牌成功竞争。大到足以容纳正式的教练 - 工作,它也足够快,以吸引更具运动性的倾向:开胃酒国王安德烈杜邦在1921年赢得了Boulgone的Coupe Boillot,而欧洲的车身制造商争相在这个真正的纯种底盘上建立他们最好的车身。

Hispano-Suiza的完成是最高级的,汽车的内在魅力使其成为20世纪20年代早期的两部流行小说,l'Homme de l'Hispano和The Green Hat。 H6B是世界上最先进的汽车,在推出之后多年,H6B被编目到1930年,到那时已经完成了2000多个底盘。 8升版本--H6C - 直到1934年才上市。

 

H6的继任者,68型J12,于1931年在巴黎展会上首次亮相。在大萧条时期推出的J12是Birkigt的最终杰作。它的动力单元是9,424cc V12,采用推杆操作的顶置气门而不是H6的顶置凸轮轴,这一改变使J12能够与其他豪华车型相匹配,从而实现静音操作。

轴距长度从135“到158”不等,适用于从运动到正式的所有车型,但是有200马力的时候,J12能够达到100英里/小时,无论它携带什么类型的车身。就像它的H6隐形一样,J12吸引了欧洲大陆领先的车身制造商的注意力,并且在19世纪30年代的一些最杰出的设计是在J12底盘上找到的。

底盘号13041

 

这个神话般的例子是已知存在的44种J12之一,由巴黎的Fernandez et Darrin公司穿着紧密连接的berline(轿车)车身。这是一辆具有已知历史的匹配数字汽车,由着名的法国纺织巨头和赛马饲养员Marcel Boussac(1889-1980)购买,是时尚品牌Maison Dior的所有者和巴黎的St Cloud赛道。它的第二个拥有者是沃尔特怀曼。

联系方式

31250 Cedar Valley Drive, Westlake Village, CA 91362 

Tel 805-523-3330, Fax 805-523-3336

© 2019 林荫大道上的外滩

1934 Hispano Suiza

J12

A Hispano won France’s prestigious Coupe de l’Auto race in 1910, and this racing voiturette would form the basis of the Alfonso XIII model introduced in 1912. Arguably the world’s first series-production sports car, the Alfonso was powered by a long-stroke 3.6-litre engine and was capable of over 80mph, a staggering performance at the time.

 

Its successful exposure in France led to Hispano-Suiza setting up a factory in Paris in 1911, the better to exploit the potential of the large French market. Indeed, although the marque was of Spanish origin, it was Hispano-Suiza’s French-built cars that established it in the front rank of luxury automobile manufacturers following the end of WWI. 

One of the most famous of marques of all time, Hispano-Suiza was founded in Barcelona, Spain in 1904, its name (literally, Spanish-Swiss) recognising both its place of origin and the contribution made by its chief designer, the Swiss engineer Marc Birkigt. The latter had designed the La Cuadra car in Barcelona in 1900 and then the Castro. When Castro went out of business, a new company - Fabrica De Automoviles, La Hispano-Suiza - was formed, headed by wealthy investor Damien Mateu.

 

Two four-cylinder models were shown at the Paris Auto Show in 1906, and in 1908 the range expanded with the addition of two sixes. Spain’s young King Alfonso XIII was an early devotee of the marque. One of Hispano’s first customers, he purchased a trio of four-cylinder models at the Madrid Show in 1907, and would own some 30-or-so examples during his reign.

During the conflict, Hispano engines had powered some of the Allies’ finest fighter aircraft, and post-war the marque would adopt the stork emblem of French ‘ace’ Georges Guynemer’s Escadrille des Cicognes, whose SPAD biplanes had used Hispano’s V8 aero engine. Not surprisingly, the first post-war Hispano - the H6B - drew heavily on this expertise, being powered by a Marc Birkigt-designed, 6,597cc, overhead-camshaft six derived from one half of a proposed V12 aero engine. A seven-bearing design enjoying the benefit of pressure-fed lubrication, the latter was built in unit with the three-speed gearbox and featured aluminium-alloy pistons running in steel cylinder liners screwed into the light-alloy block. Maximum power was a heady 135bhp produced at just 2,400rpm, and the almost flat torque curve afforded walking-pace-to-85mph performance in top gear. A handful of prototype H6Bs was made at the company’s Barcelona factory - King Alfonso XIII taking delivery of an early example in April 1918 - before production proper commenced at Bois-Colombes, Paris. 

Sensation of the 1919 Paris Show, the H6B featured a light yet rigid four-wheel-braked chassis that matched its state-of-the-art power unit for innovation. Indeed, so good were its servo-assisted brakes that Rolls-Royce acquired the rights to build the design under licence. The H6B combined performance with flexibility, comfort with good handling, and safety with reliability in a manner that enabled Hispano-Suiza to compete successfully with Rolls-Royce, Bentley, Bugatti, Isotta Fraschini and the USA’s luxury marques. Large enough to accommodate formal coach- -work, it was also fast enough to appeal to the more sportingly inclined: aperitif king Andre Dubonnet won the Coupe Boillot at Boulgone in 1921, while Europe’s coachbuilders vied to build their finest coachwork on this genuinely thoroughbred chassis.

The finish of the Hispano-Suiza was superlative and the car’s inherent glamour was such that it was featured in two popular novels of the early 1920s, l’Homme de l’Hispano and The Green Hat. The world’s most advanced automobile at the time of its introduction and for many years thereafter, the H6B was cataloged until 1930, by which time a little over 2,000 chassis had been completed. An 8-litre version - the H6C - was listed until 1934. 

 

The H6’s successor, the Type 68 J12, debuted at the Paris Show in 1931. Introduced at the height of the Depression, the J12 was Birkigt’s final masterpiece. Its power unit was a 9,424cc V12 featuring pushrod-operated overhead valves instead of the H6’s overhead camshaft, a change that enabled the J12 to match other luxury makes for silence of operation. 

Wheelbase lengths ranged from 135” to 158”, catering for all styles of coachwork from sporting to formal, but with 200 bhp on tap, the J12 was capable of reaching 100 mph no matter what type of body it carried. Like its H6 forbear, the J12 attracted the attention of the Continent’s leading coachbuilders, and some of the most outstanding designs of the 1930s are to found on the J12 chassis. 

Chassis no. 13041

One of only 44 J12s known to exist, this fabulous example wears close-coupled berline (sedan) coachwork by the Paris-based firm of Fernandez et Darrin. A matching numbers car with known history, it was purchased new by famous French textile magnate and racehorse breeder, Marcel Boussac (1889-1980), owner of the fashion house Maison Dior and Paris’s St Cloud racetrack. Its second owner was Walt Wyman.

BE IN 
TOUCH

31250 Cedar Valley Drive, Westlake Village, CA 91362 

Tel 805-523-3330, Fax 805-523-3336

© 2019 by Bund on the Boulevard